The publishing label founded by Eric Church, Little Louder, celebrates 9 years of success

In Music City, Tennessee, people know that number one songs don’t just happen overnight. Often it takes years of writing and a team of talented professionals to bring a song into the limelight. There’s even a locally known saying that “Nashville is a 10-year-old town,” which means it might take 10 years to get your big break.

But Eric Church and his publishing label, Little Louder, made it happen in just nine years. And not only did they beat the 10-year deadline, but Little Louder signed nine songwriters. And above that, Little Louder produced nine number one hits. All in just nine years.

How did they do it? Focusing on the craft of songwriters, the cornerstone of the music industry. Oh, and Eric Church teamed up with industry veteran Arturo Buenahora — who signed Church, Miranda Lambert, Dierks Bentley and Taylor Swift to their first publishing deals — to build Little Louder.

“Some days it was the plan and other days it felt like a dream,” Buenahora said of Little Louder. “The bar is high when Eric Church is your partner, but we’ve slowly added writers we’ve fallen in love with. They’re the brand. They’re the engine. They’re the center of what we do every day. This business was something that Eric and I had been talking about long before 2013, so we’re grateful to be able to take a moment and reflect on all of this.

Arturo Buenahora and Eric Church / Photo credit: Steve Lowry

To celebrate their collective success, Church and Little Louder co-founder Arturo Buenahora presented a showcase of singer-songwriter talent at the BMI Building in Nashville. The intimate evening saw performances from each of the Little Louder songwriters, including a four-song set from folk quintet Boy Named Banjo. Additionally, Church sang “We wereand “Raise ‘Em Up” with fellow countryman Keith Urban. “We Were” was written by Church alongside Little Louder songwriters Jeff Hyde and Ryan Tyndell.

Rising country star Hailey Whitters also performed at the Little Louder celebration with a tangy rendition of her song “Everything She Ain’t.” The Whitters’ track was co-written between the rising artist and Tyndell.

Other Little Louder songwriters include Casey Beathard, Luke Dick, Jon Sherwood, Jackson Dean, William Reames (also a member of Boy Named Banjo), Barton Davies (also a member of Boy Named Banjo), and Tucker Beathard.

LtoR: Mason Hunter of BMI, Tucker Beathard of Little Louder, Jon Sherwood, Barton Davies, William Reames,
Arturo Buenahora, Dale Dodson, Luke Dick, Eric Church, Casey Beathard, Jeff Hyde and Jefferson Brown / Photo credit: Steve Lowry

Little Louder’s nine number one hits include “Record Year”, “Round Here Buzz”, “Burning Man”, “Some of It”, “Bluebird”, “There Was Jesus”, “Why We Drink”, “Hell of aView”. and “Beers on Me.” The publishing house has always championed songwriter donations, and clearly, it has paid off.

Cheers to another nine years of songwriting triumphs!

Photo credit: Steve Lowry

Comments are closed.